![]() |
|
Welcome to the Computer Webmaster Gaming Console Graphics Forum forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. |
| |||||||
| Website Advertising Or Marketing Advertising or marketing help needed, ask your questions here.
No Selling Here Please Use The Market Section! |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 | ||
| Hi, A guy named David Frey is generating his own web pages that include text from best ranked sites. He generated one using information concerning me without my authorization. This page http://www.marketing-consultant-succ...onsultant.html contains this text "Mr. Gaetan Fournier Oracle HRMS Functional Consultant" that you can find using CTRL+F. What can I do to make him remove his page that is now indexed in search engines with my information? By the way, does he have a reputation for dishonest practices? Thanks, [Moderator's Note: if you goto the specified page, you won't see the text in question. However, if you look at the HTML source code, you will see a lot of text that appears to have been copied from other people's pages. -- Mike] | |||
| Advertisements |
| | #2 | ||
| "Gaetan Fournier" <gaetanfournier@videotron.ca> wrote: > A guy named David Frey is generating his own web pages that include text > from best ranked sites. He generated one using information concerning me > without my authorization. > > This page > http://www.marketing-consultant-succ...onsultant.html > contains this text > "Mr. Gaetan Fournier Oracle HRMS Functional Consultant" that you can find > using CTRL+F. > > What can I do to make him remove his page that is now indexed in search > engines with my information? By the way, does he have a reputation for > dishonest practices? If the text in his page, whether visible or hidden in the HTML, is copied, then it can be ordered removed under the DMCA if it's a US site. http://www.learnaboutlaw.com/documen...tification.rtf is a sample letter. Most of the language in the letter must be as is under the DMCA. More info at www.copyright.gov I had to do that recently to get some images that were copied from my site removed from a site. If the ISP or web host does not take action after receipt of that letter/fax, they become liable for the copyright violation themselves. ISPs are supposed to register their DMCA contact, but you can usually find it in the whois for the ISP or on the ISP's web site in the legal notice. http://www.copyright.gov/onlinesp/list/a_agents.html They have no liability for removing the material under the DMCA. I tend to doubt the infringer will later dispute your letter and seek to have the material restored. -- McWebber "Richter points to the lack of legal action against his company as proof that he's operating appropriately." Information Week, November 10, 2003 | |||
| | #3 | ||
| In article <c8evev026rd@enews2.newsguy.com>, gaetanfournier@videotron.ca says... > Gaetan Fournier > If your concern is that his page now shows up when someone "Googles" your name, report him to Google at: http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html They take a dim view of hidden code tricks. -- Dave Miller FundablePlans - Create a custom business plan online - only $39.95 http://www.fundableplans.com | |||
| | #4 | ||
| Thanks, I just did that, we'll wait for the results now. Gaetan "Dave Miller" <dave@fundableplans.com> a crit dans le message de news:c8g2mv0pmh@enews3.newsguy.com... > > In article <c8evev026rd@enews2.newsguy.com>, gaetanfournier@videotron.ca > says... > > Gaetan Fournier > > > If your concern is that his page now shows up when someone "Googles" > your name, report him to Google at: > http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html > > They take a dim view of hidden code tricks. > > -- > Dave Miller > FundablePlans - Create a custom business plan online - only $39.95 > http://www.fundableplans.com > | |||
| | #5 | ||
| Thanks for your answer! However, how do I get the name of his host of ISP? Gaetan "McWebber" <mcwebber@my-deja.com> a crit dans le message de news:c8fvhd0l24@enews4.newsguy.com... > "Gaetan Fournier" <gaetanfournier@videotron.ca> wrote: > > A guy named David Frey is generating his own web pages that include text > > from best ranked sites. He generated one using information concerning me > > without my authorization. > > > > This page > > > http://www.marketing-consultant-succ...onsultant.html > > contains this text > > "Mr. Gaetan Fournier Oracle HRMS Functional Consultant" that you can find > > using CTRL+F. > > > > What can I do to make him remove his page that is now indexed in search > > engines with my information? By the way, does he have a reputation for > > dishonest practices? > > If the text in his page, whether visible or hidden in the HTML, is copied, > then it can be ordered removed under the DMCA if it's a US site. > http://www.learnaboutlaw.com/documen...tification.rtf is a sample > letter. Most of the language in the letter must be as is under the DMCA. > More info at www.copyright.gov > I had to do that recently to get some images that were copied from my site > removed from a site. If the ISP or web host does not take action after > receipt of that letter/fax, they become liable for the copyright violation > themselves. ISPs are supposed to register their DMCA contact, but you can > usually find it in the whois for the ISP or on the ISP's web site in the > legal notice. http://www.copyright.gov/onlinesp/list/a_agents.html > > They have no liability for removing the material under the DMCA. I tend to > doubt the infringer will later dispute your letter and seek to have the > material restored. > > -- > McWebber > "Richter points to the lack of legal action against his company as proof > that he's operating appropriately." > Information Week, November 10, 2003 > > > | |||
| | #6 | ||
| "Gaetan Fournier" <gaetanfournier@videotron.ca> wrote in message news:c8nvau019k3@enews1.newsguy.com... > > Thanks for your answer! However, how do I get the name of his host of ISP? > Use traceroute either locally or online at http://openrbl.org/dnsbl.htm and that will show you who owns the IP address for the site. You can call them or look up on their site for the legal info. -- McWebber No email replies read If someone tells you to forward an email to all your friends please forget that I'm your friend. | |||
| Featured Websites | ||||
|
![]() |
| Tags: advice, concerning, david, dishonest, freys, marketing, practices |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Site Critique - Marketing Advice | Mike Harvey | Website Advertising Or Marketing | 7 | 02-17-2008 10:32 PM |
| Marketing advice - Asia business | Conor, ODM asia. | Website Advertising Or Marketing | 4 | 07-05-2007 12:48 PM |
| Marketing Advice | Website Advertising Or Marketing | 1 | 07-05-2007 12:47 PM | |
| advice needed: marketing my company | Chandra Rajaraman | Website Advertising Or Marketing | 3 | 07-05-2007 12:32 PM |
| advice needed: marketing my company | Chandra Rajaraman | Website Advertising Or Marketing | 3 | 07-05-2007 12:32 PM |
| Featured Websites | ||||
|