Computer Webmaster Gaming Console Graphics Forum

Welcome to the Computer Webmaster Gaming Console Graphics Forum forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

MK PitStop Main Earn $25 Earn Money Posting Extras Members Blogs Image Hosting User Pages
Go Back   Computer Webmaster Gaming Console Graphics Forum > Ebay Forum > Ebay Technical Questions
Register FAQ/Rules Become A V.I.P. Member Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Ebay Technical Questions Ebay technical questions with listings, software, scripts and any other technical question you might have and need help with.

Google
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2007, 2:16 AM   #1
Ron
 
Ron's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
My Photos: (0)

Banked:
MK Cash: $

I am Worth:
MK Cash: $
Donate

Recent Blog: None

Default Account verification

I recieved the following message today
Dear eBay User,
This is our yearly process to screen inactive/stale accounts so we can
delete these accounts leaving the usernames free for new users. Please click
on the following link and enter your eBay username and password to confirm
you are still an active eBayer.
http://signin.ebay.co.uk/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn

Regards,

Accounts Department

The header



Seems a little suspicoius. HAs anyone else recieved the same?


 
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Advertisements
Old 05-30-2007, 2:16 AM   #2
Pennytown
 
Pennytown's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
My Photos: (0)

Banked:
MK Cash: $

I am Worth:
MK Cash: $
Donate

Recent Blog: None

Default Account verification


"Mike McKeown" <mike@xenocyte.org.uk> wrote in message
news:bg00p9$ivodc$1@ID-73063.news.uni-berlin.de...
> Ron wrote:
> > I recieved the following message today
> > Dear eBay User,
> > This is our yearly process to screen inactive/stale accounts so we can
> > delete these accounts leaving the usernames free for new users.
> > Please click on the following link and enter your eBay username and
> > password to confirm you are still an active eBayer.
> > http://signin.ebay.co.uk/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn
> >
> > Regards,
> >
> > Accounts Department
> >
> > The header
> >
> >
> >
> > Seems a little suspicoius. HAs anyone else recieved the same?

>
>
> Read the source code. Pounds get you pence that the real href under that
> link in your original message points somewhere else. Ignore it or report
> it to eBay.
>
> Mike M
>
> --
> Xenocyte Books. Now on eBay. They're back. And this time it's serious.
> http://tinyurl.com/g1jt Today's top item: Lemony Snicket complete
> collection 1sts


This is the header. Does eBay send via BT Openworld?

Delivery-date: Sat, 26 Jul 2003 19:14:04 +0100
Received: from [212.4.208.115] (helo=ultra15.uk2net.com)
by imailm1.svr.pol.co.uk with esmtp (Exim 4.14)
id 19gTYS-0005IA-0R
19:14:04 +0100
Received: from host213-122-112-211.in-addr.btopenworld.com
([213.122.112.211] helo=d)
by ultra15.uk2net.com with smtp (Exim 0.00)
id 19gTYS-0002Pu-00
for sales@pennytown.co.uk; Sat, 26 Jul 2003 19:14:05 +0100
From: "aw-confirm@ebay.co.uk" <aw-confirm@ebay.co.uk>
To: <sales@pennytown.co.uk>
Subject: Account Verification
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="iso-8859-1"
Date: Sat, 26 Jul 2003 11:14:01
Message-Id: <E19gTYS-0002Pu-00@ultra15.uk2net.com>


 
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 05-30-2007, 2:16 AM   #3
arielmad
 
arielmad's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
My Photos: (0)

Banked:
MK Cash: $

I am Worth:
MK Cash: $
Donate

Recent Blog: None

Default Account verification

I have had many such types of email - the one this week used
safeharbour@ebay.com and the 'correct' eBay form file to give bank
etail's - It was a fake and have reported to eBay,
unusually I was contacted straight away by eBay to tell me that they are
investigating this message.

I am really annoyed that I haven't had my eBay id merged yet - been waiting
since Feb... - one of my email addresses is the ID and it is constantly hit
with spam and eBay fraud...

eBay must be the biggest POT for email spammers to get addresses to hit.





---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.497 / Virus Database: 296 - Release Date: 04/07/2003


 
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 05-30-2007, 2:16 AM   #4
Nelleke Rietvink
 
Nelleke Rietvink's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
My Photos: (0)

Banked:
MK Cash: $

I am Worth:
MK Cash: $
Donate

Recent Blog: None

Default Account verification

On Sun, 27 Jul 2003 08:48:01 +0100, "Ron" <sales@pennytown.co.uk>
scribbled:

>I recieved the following message today
>Dear eBay User,
>This is our yearly process to screen inactive/stale accounts so we can
>delete these accounts leaving the usernames free for new users. Please click
>on the following link and enter your eBay username and password to confirm
>you are still an active eBayer.
>http://signin.ebay.co.uk/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn
>
>Regards,
>
>Accounts Department
>
>The header
>
>
>
>Seems a little suspicoius. HAs anyone else recieved the same?
>


I think you can safely assume that any email that looks like it comes
from ebay or paypal and asks for your password or gives you a link
where you have to enter it, will be a fake.

Nell
 
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 05-30-2007, 2:16 AM   #5
MC_Emily
 
MC_Emily's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
My Photos: (0)

Banked:
MK Cash: $

I am Worth:
MK Cash: $
Donate

Recent Blog: None

Default Account verification

arielmad wrote:

> one of my email addresses is the ID


Why do people do this?

> and it is
> constantly hit with spam and eBay fraud...


Don't you expect this when you broadcast your e-mail address to all and
sundry??

Jaqy


 
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 05-30-2007, 2:16 AM   #6
arielmad
 
arielmad's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
My Photos: (0)

Banked:
MK Cash: $

I am Worth:
MK Cash: $
Donate

Recent Blog: None

Default Account verification


"Dr Zoidberg" <AlexNOOOOO!!!!!!@drzoidberg.co.uk> wrote in message
news:bg0lj0$jled9$1@ID-46820.news.uni-berlin.de...
> MC_Emily wrote:
> > arielmad wrote:
> >
> >> one of my email addresses is the ID

> >
> > Why do people do this?

>
> Its easier to remember , and the ID I wanted was already taken.
> Plus IMO , it makes me more traceable and hence more trustworthy , as the
> domain name in my email is registered to myself.
> >
> >> and it is
> >> constantly hit with spam and eBay fraud...

> >
> > Don't you expect this when you broadcast your e-mail address to all
> > and sundry??


Thsi is true - but I've had it a few years - only the past 12 months have
started to be a problem.

I have asked for a merge with my old ID carrying over the feedback from my
email address ID - but even after 4 months ebay have not carried out the
merge - many emails have flitted back 'n' forth...

but I live in hope..




---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.497 / Virus Database: 296 - Release Date: 04/07/2003


 
Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit!
Featured Websites
Free Space
Free Space
Free Space Free Space
Closed Thread
Tags: ,




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Email Verification Kadaitcha Man Windows 1 05-28-2007 11:28 PM
Address validation and verification Fur Data Website Reviews And Website Questions 0 05-28-2007 12:43 AM
Address validation and verification Fur Data Website Reviews And Website Questions 0 05-28-2007 12:43 AM
[PEAR-ACCOUNT-REQUEST] Your bug tracker account request johannes graën Pear 0 05-20-2007 7:41 PM
Merchant Account Service roxxy Building An Internet Business 5 09-17-2006 5:28 PM


Featured Websites




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 4:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.0.0
Cheap Computers
MK PitStop Copyright 2005 - 2008

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98