![]() |
|
Welcome to the Computer Webmaster Gaming Console Graphics Forum forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. |
| |||||||
| Ebay Technical Questions Ebay technical questions with listings, software, scripts and any other technical question you might have and need help with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #11 | ||
| back atcha. do the same with paypal scams spoof@paypal.com -- See Ya Tiny ================================================= Don't assume malice for what stupidity can explain. Chop the WOOD to reply or email ================================================= "Professor Marcus" <professor@marcus.spamtrapped> wrote in message news:4271af49$0$550$ed2619ec@ptn-nntp-reader03.plus.net... > > "Tiny" <ferret_dad@WOODsbcglobal.net> wrote in message > news sudnf_0mJeMFuzfRVn-qQ@giganews.com...>> Spelling isn't always a tell. If you get something like this always send > it >> to spoof@ebay.com and they'll let you know. >> >> -- > Sent it to them and got a reply very quickly saying it was a false/scam > email, cheers. > > | |||
| Advertisements |
| | #12 | ||
| "Professor Marcus" wrote ... > I was thinking it would probably be a false email/scam as there are > spelling > mistakes , and also there is no sign of anybody else using my account. The fact it isn't from ebay, and it isn't addressed to you are clues, too. The minor point of the website offered being NOTHING to do with ebay is probably coincidental. -- Andrew http://www.weirdity/ebay/ | |||
| | #13 | ||
| Ni disrespect here but Professor? Come on fella never give anyone any bank details any card details unless you are sure it is from the company you are signed up with and then only in a secure environment, ie you have started the situation not them! "Andrew Heenan" <andrew4@heenan.net> wrote in message news:d4sr39$3bb$1@newsg4.svr.pol.co.uk... > "Professor Marcus" wrote ... >> I was thinking it would probably be a false email/scam as there are >> spelling >> mistakes , and also there is no sign of anybody else using my account. > > The fact it isn't from ebay, and it isn't addressed to you are clues, too. > The minor point of the website offered being NOTHING to do with ebay is > probably coincidental. > -- > > Andrew > http://www.weirdity/ebay/ > | |||
| | #14 | ||
| On Thu, 28 Apr 2005 18:06:42 -0700, Craig Wagner <craig_d_wagner@hotmail.com> wrote: >"Professor Marcus" <professor@marcus.spamtrapped> wrote: > >>Is this email I received a scam or genuine ? >> >> We recently noticed one or more allernpls lo log in lo your eBay accounl >>from a foreign IP address and we have reasons lo believe that your account >>was used by a third parly without your authorization If you recently >>accessed your account while traveling, the unusual login attempts may have >>been initiated by you >> The login attempt was made from: >> IP address: 172.25.210.66 >> ISP Host: cache-66 proxy aol com > >I got that same one. Just for grins I followed the link. After putting in a >(fake) username & password it then asked me to re-enter all my data. The form >asked for everything you could possibly think of: mother's maiden name, bank >account #, PIN, bank's address, paypal username & password... > >They were thorough. I get several of these fake Paypal/Ebay e-mails everyday and you have to start wondering why they are doing nothing to stop this. I have yet to get any fake e-mail pretending to be from financial institutions like banks, trust companies, etc. They have all the information they need to go shut down these websites when you forward them the e-mail. Ak | |||
| | #15 | ||
| "Spadger" <spadger42@blueyonder.co.uk> wrote in message news:ztnce.162938$Nr5.68265@fe2.news.blueyonder.co .uk... > Ni disrespect here but Professor? > Come on fella never give anyone any bank details any card details unless you > are sure it is from the company you are signed up with and then only in a > secure environment, ie you have started the situation not them! > It didn't ask for my credit card details, the email was entitled 'your ebay account will be suspended' or words to that effect, that was what had me worried. | |||
| | #16 | ||
| Sigh, got yet another one today.................... eBay Confirmation CenterDear eBay User, During our regular update and verification of the accounts, we couldn't verify your current information. Either your information has changed or it is incomplete. If the account information is not updated to current information within 5 days then, your access to bid or buy on eBay will be suspended. go to this link below or copy and paste it on your addresse tool bar, and re-enter your account information. <a target="_blank" href="http://ebay-billing-update.org/?eBayISAPI.dll&VerifyRegistrationShow > Click here to complete our web form. ***Please Do Not Reply To This E-Mail As You Will Not Receive A Response*** Thank you Accounts Managent | |||
| | #17 | ||
| I got one, purportedly from my bank last week. Received a phone call this morning that they have tracked the spoof to a server in CA and plan to prosecute. I say more power to them, I hope the give the scamming bastard 20 years. -- See Ya Tiny ================================================= Don't assume malice for what stupidity can explain. Chop the WOOD to reply or email ================================================= "Alfred Kaufmann" <al@kaufmann.ca> wrote in message news:9co471pt6b9n7bkk46iibas0ia9t95rcup@4ax.com... > On Thu, 28 Apr 2005 18:06:42 -0700, Craig Wagner > <craig_d_wagner@hotmail.com> wrote: > >>"Professor Marcus" <professor@marcus.spamtrapped> wrote: >> >>>Is this email I received a scam or genuine ? >>> >>> We recently noticed one or more allernpls lo log in lo your eBay accounl >>>from a foreign IP address and we have reasons lo believe that your >>>account >>>was used by a third parly without your authorization If you recently >>>accessed your account while traveling, the unusual login attempts may >>>have >>>been initiated by you >>> The login attempt was made from: >>> IP address: 172.25.210.66 >>> ISP Host: cache-66 proxy aol com >> >>I got that same one. Just for grins I followed the link. After putting in >>a >>(fake) username & password it then asked me to re-enter all my data. The >>form >>asked for everything you could possibly think of: mother's maiden name, >>bank >>account #, PIN, bank's address, paypal username & password... >> >>They were thorough. > > I get several of these fake Paypal/Ebay e-mails everyday and you have > to start wondering why they are doing nothing to stop this. I have > yet to get any fake e-mail pretending to be from financial > institutions like banks, trust companies, etc. They have all the > information they need to go shut down these websites when you forward > them the e-mail. > > Ak > | |||
| Featured Websites | ||||
|
![]() |
| Tags: scam |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Possible scam? Help! | Aaron Fagan | Ebay Technical Questions | 2 | 05-31-2007 11:55 AM |
| Scam??????? | Grant | Ebay Technical Questions | 3 | 05-31-2007 11:47 AM |
| Possible Scam | sixty8kr | Ebay Technical Questions | 3 | 05-31-2007 1:15 AM |
| What kind of scam is this ???? | BeeMan | Ebay Technical Questions | 0 | 05-31-2007 12:43 AM |
| Anyone Seen This Scam? | Kadaitcha Man | Windows | 2 | 05-28-2007 8:45 PM |
| Featured Websites | ||||
|